Telangana bypoll: Eatala Rajender of BJP wins Huzurabad seat defeating TRS candidate Gellu Srinivas Yadav by 23,855 votes | Hyderabad News – Times of India

HYDERABAD: It was the mother of all bypoll battles, one of the most debated political contests in Telangana, finally won by the Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s detractor Eatala Rajender.
Former minister Eatala, who contested as the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, has won the Huzurabad assembly constituency byelections defeating ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi candidate Gellu Srinivas Yadav by 23,855 votes by the end of 22 rounds.
The election slogan of Eatala Rajender — “Nannu Sampkuntara Sadukuntara Mee Chetalluno Undhi” (Whether you kill my political career or nurture it it’s all in your hands) — has worked out well with the voters and sympathy factor is the biggest drive for his victory.
Byelections were conducted on October 30 following the resignation of Eatala Rajender, the sitting MLA, after he said goodbye to TRS due to differences with the chief minister.
In the neck-and-neck fight on Tuesday, Eatala has proved that Huzurabad is his bastion, and he wins it whichever party he contests.
BJP got around 51.96 per cent vote share as against 40.38 per cent vote share of TRS and won the seat despite the ruling party going all out on all fronts to defeat Eatala Rajender.
On the other hand, despite under new leader A Revanth Reddy, Congress is a distant third and lost deposits and managed to get less than 1.46 per cent of votes.
Despite the entire TRS party and government machinery focused on Huzurabad, the sympathy for Eatala where locals perceived he had been humiliated by the KCR-led government and the personal touch of Eatala with the locals have helped him emerge victoriously.
Neither the Dalit Bandhu scheme, which was considered a masterstroke by KCR, offered Rs 10 lakh to each Dalit family, nor several other welfare schemes of the TRS party like Rythu Bandhu and pensions for the aged has come to the rescue of the ruling party.
Interestingly, Eatala Rajender is an ex-Maoist, and Huzrabad was a left-wing extremist sympathiser base a decade ago.
Eatala Rajender will be the MLA of the Huzurabad constituency for the seventh consecutive time as people consider him their ‘Bandhu’.
Except for two rounds, that are eighth and eleventh, of counting, Eatala maintained the lead till the last one.
Political analysts say Huzrabad has to be considered as a special case as it is more of a battle between Eatala Rajender and TRS supremo K Chandrashekar Rao.
Political analyst and former MLC Professor K Nageshwar told TOI, ”Sympathy factor worked out well for Eatala Rajender as it is perceived that KCR has used him during agitation and all these years and thrown him out. Youth also stood by Eatala in large numbers due to various issues like unemployment. Rajender is still recently an insider of the ruling party, and he knows KCR’s strategies and TRS moves in elections. Like in Dubbaka, lower rung TRS leadership felt that KCR needs to get a jerk if he has to listen to them and has helped Eatala.”
“Rajender knows tricks of the trade. Dalit Bandhu that was supposed to be launched before the 2023 elections was announced by KCR. But it was in a nascent stage hence didn’t show impact. Certain communities like Madiga and Reddies are not happy. Eatala could also spend money to a large extent though not equal to the ruling party,” he said.
The Majority of Eatala Rajender has come down when compared to the previous elections in 2018 and 2014.
In 2018, Eatala Rajender, who contested as a TRS candidate, defeated the then Congress candidate Padi Kaushik Reddy with 25.1 per cent of the margin.
In 2014, Eatala, as a TRS candidate, defeated Congress candidate Kethiri Sudarshan Reddy with a 35.4 per cent vote margin.
2021 bypoll
Total votes polled for Eatala Rajender –107022
Percentage of Votes of Rajender(BJP) –51.96
Total Votes polled for Gellu Srinivas Yadav –83167
Percentage of Votes of Gellu(TRS) –40.38
Margin or Majority of votes of Eatala — 23855
Total votes and percentage of votes of Congress candidate Balmoor Venkat –3014 (1.46 perecent0
2018 General Assembly poll
Total votes polled for the then TRS candidate Eatala Rajender 104840
Total votes polled for the then Congress candidate Padi Kaushik Reddy 61121
Percentage of margin 25.15 votes(majority 43719 votes)
2014 General Assembly poll
Total votes polled for the then TRS candidate Eatala Rajender 95315
Total votes polled for the then Congress candidate K Sudharshan Reddy 38278 votes
Percentage of margin 35.4 per cent (Majority of 57037 votes)


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *