You are here
Home > Hyderabad News >

B Vinod Kumar is TRS’ first choice to take on Eatala in Huzurabad | Hyderabad News – Times of India

HYDERABAD: Even as the TRS is considering the names of two or three leaders, the party most likely will field Telangana State Planning Board vice-chairman B Vinod Kumar to take on former minister Eatala Rajender in the Huzurabad by-election. Veteran leader, Rajya Sabha member Captain V Lakshmikantha Rao’s and former minister E Peddi Reddy’s names are also doing the rounds for the bypoll.
Since Eatala has been representing the constituency since 2009 and established a good following, the ruling party is leaving no stone unturned to not only snatch a victory but also win the seat with a sizeable majority as and when the bypoll is held. No wonder, the party is looking for a strong candidate though several local leaders are aspiring for the party ticket.

Vinod represented as Karimnagar Lok Sabha MP between 2014 and 2019, but lost the election to BJP state president Bandi Sanjay in 2019 general elections. He served as party deputy floor leader in Lok Sabha. Sources said the TRS leadership is considering his candidature in the bypoll as Huzurabad constituency falls under Karimnagar LS seat and the TRS had secured more than 50,000 votes in the LS elections. Vinod has already been made one of the incharges of the party to the constituency.
On the other hand, 81-year-old Lakshmikantha Rao, who is considered to be very close to TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao, is also fancying his chances although his advanced age could go against him. He was party MLA between 2004 and 2008 before delimitation of constituencies. Another factor which could spoil his chances is that his son V Satish is an MLA from Husnabad and the leadership may not give a second ticket from the same family, sources said.
Peddi Reddy, who is with BJP now, may join the TRS and may get an opportunity to take on Eatala. Sources said Reddy is not happy with the BJP leadership as he was not consulted by the party before inviting Eatala into the party. Local leader and BC Commission member Vakulabharanam Krishna Mohan, TRS vidyarthi wing president Gellu Srinivas, former TTD member Dontha Ramesh and a businessman are also trying their luck.
Eatala, who quit the TRS a couple of days ago, is likely to submit his resignation to the speaker in a day or two and join the BJP later.


Source link

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!